Banshee 1.7.1

  • Release Date: May 26, 2020

  • Source Tarball: banshee-1-1.7.1.tar.bz2

  • Release Information: NEWS, sha256sum

Download Now

Banshee 1.7.1 is part of the unstable 1.7 series, leading up to a
stable 1.8 release in the fall.  It contains many bug fixes for 1.7.0, as
well as new features and enhancements.

New Features Since 1.7.0

Improvements for Audiobooks support

      Audiobooks tracks are now organized in books, which can be merged
      together. The last position in each book is automatically saved, so
      you can resume playing a book right from where you stopped.


  • New preference to have the classic album layout instead of the grid view

  • streaming can be disabled separately from the other features.

  • Support for reading and writing MusicBrainz IDs

  • Show the TrackEditor fields as read-only when they are not editable

Notable Bug Fixes

18 bugs were fixed since 1.7.0

  • Fix Youtube playback

  • Fix deletion of Podcast metadata during modification

  • Fix a crash related to the notification daemon

  • Fix fetching cover for albums with several discs

  • Several fixes for the N800 device

Banshee has a lot more to offer! Check out the previous major release notes...


  • Mono 1.9.1 (.NET 2.0 Profile / gmcs)

  • SQlite 3.4

  • Gtk# 2.12

  • GStreamer 0.10.13

  • NDesk DBus (ndesk-dbus) 0.5

  • NDesk DBus GLib (ndesk-dbus-glib) 0.3

  • Mono.Addins (mono-addins) 0.3.1

  • TagLib# (taglib-sharp) >=

  • Required to build default feature stack:

    • libmtp >= 0.2.0

    • ipod-sharp >= 0.8.5

    • mono-zeroconf >= 0.8.0

    • boo >= 0.8.1

    • webkit-sharp-1.0 >= 0.2

    • gdata-sharp >= 1.4

  • Run-time requirements for default feature stack:

    • HAL

    • podsleuth >= 0.6.7

    • brasero

    • avahi


Contributors For This Release

The following people directly contributed to the release of this version of Banshee. Without their help, there would be no release!

  Aaron Bockover, Alexander Kojevnikov, Andrés G. Aragoneses, Aurélien Mino,
  Bertrand Lorentz, Gabriel Burt, Kevin Duffus, Michał Sawicz

The following people contributed updated translations to this release. Without them, our project's reach would be much more limited.

  Andrej Žnidaršič, Benjamín Valero, Bruce Cowan, Christian Kirbach,
  Fran Diéguez, Mario Blättermann, Michel Recondo, Petr Kovar

Contributors In Past Releases

Aaron Bockover, Alan McGovern, Alex Bennee, Alex Kloss, Alex Launi,
Alexander Hixon, Alexander Kojevnikov, Alexandros Frantzis, Alp Toker,
Anders Petersson, Andrea Cimitan, Andreas Neustifter, Andreas Nilsson,
Andrew Conkling, Andrés G. Aragoneses, Andy Midgette, Arthur Carli,
Arun Raghavan, Aurélien Mino, Aydemir Ulaş Şahin, Ben Maurer,
Benjamín Valero Espinosa, Bertrand Lorentz, Bertrand Lorentz, Bill Dawson,
Bob Copeland, Bojan Rajkovic, Brad Taylor, Brandon Perry, Brian Lucas,
Brian Nickel, Brian Teague, Chow Loong Jin, Chris Howie, Chris Jones,
Chris Lahey, Chris Toshok, Chris Turchin, Christian Hergert,
Christian Krause, Christoph Burgdorf, Christopher James Halse Rogers,
Cody Russell, Cosmin Banu, Dan Wilson, Dan Winship, Daniel Munkton,
Daniel Siegel, David Spreen, David Stone, Diego E. Pettenò,
Eitan Isaacson, Elena Grassi, Eoin Hennessy, Eric Butler, Erik Schmidt,
Fabian Jost, Felipe Almeida Lessa, Fernando Casanova, Florent Thoumie,
Fredrik Hedberg, Félix Velasco, Gabriel Burt, Garrett LeSage,
Götz Waschk, Haitao Feng, Hans Petter Jansson, Iain Lane,
Igor Guerrero Fonseca, Ilya Konstantinov, Ivan N. Zlatev, Jack Deslippe,
Jakub Steiner, James Willcox, Jan Arne Petersen, Jason Conti, Jason Taylor,
Jeff Tickle, Jeff Wheeler, Jensen Somers, Jeroen Budts, Jo Shields,
Johannes Kuhn, John Millikin, Jordi Mas, Jorge Castro, Julien Moutte,
Juri Pakaste, Ján Sokoly, Jérémie Laval, K. Vishnoo Charan Reddy,
Ken Vandine, Kevin Duffus, Konstantin Oshiyko, Larry Ewing,
Lauri Kotilainen, Lukas Lipka, Marijn Ros, Matt Enright, Michael Kaiser,
Michael Martin-Smucker, Michael Monreal, Michael Monreal, Michał Sawicz,
Miguel de Icaza, Mike Urbanski, Moritz Schallaböck, Nathan Palmer,
Neil Loknath, Nicholas Doyle, Nicholas Parker, Nicolò Chieffo,
Nils Naumann, Oben Sonne, Olivier Duff, Oscar Forero, Pacho Ramos,
Patrick van Staveren, Paul Lange, Pavel Antonov, Pepijn van de Geer,
Peter de Kraker, Pratik Patel, Przemysław Grzegorczyk, Roderich Schupp,
Romain Tartière, Ruben Vermeersch, Ryan Collier, Sandy Armstrong,
Scott Peterson, Sebastian Dröge, Tim Yamin, Tobias Mueller, Todd Berman,
Travis Glenn Hansen, Travis Reitter, Trey Ethridge, Valentin Sawadski,
Will Farrington, William Pettersson, Wouter Bolsterlee

Reporting Bugs, Joining the Community

If you encounter any bad behavior with this release, please do not hesitate to file bugs!

We welcome new contributors - developers, translators, artists, writers, support gurus - to join our community. Join us!

Copyright 2014 Banshee contributors. Banshee is a registered trademark of Novell.